History of Wright County Minnesota,
Chapter XX POSTAL HISTORY--Pages 637, 645-648
USGENWEB NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information
on the Internet, material may be freely used by non-commercial entities,
as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is
obtained from the contributor of the file.
These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or
presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to
use this material for non-commercial purposes, MUST obtain the written
consent of the contributor, OR the legal representative of the submitter,
and contact the listed USGenWeb archivist with proof of this consent.

If you have found this file through a source other than the MNArchives 
Table Of Contents you can find other Minnesota related Archives at:
Please note the county and type of file at the top of this page to find 
the submitter information or other files for this county.

Made available to The USGenWeb Archives by: Rebecca B Frank

Clearwater, Silver Creek and Corinna Excerpts from :  
Curtiss-Wedge, Franklin.  History of Wright County Minnesota.  
Volume II.  Chicago: H. C. Cooper, Jr. & Co. 1915.   
Call Number:977.6C94h

Chapter XX 

Page 637

Clearwater.  When the postoffice was established in 1855, Simon 
Stevens was commissioned postmaster.  In 1858 he was succeeded 
by W. W. Webster, who in 1861 was followed by J. M. Brown.  
Following him came in turn H. L. Gordon, J. A. Stanton, J. E. 
Firte, Jed F. Fuller, Simon Stevens, W.W. Webster and W. T. Rigby.  
All records were burned while Mr. Rigby was postmaster.  S. McC. 
Phillips followed Mr.  Rigby taking the office in November , 1896.  
After his death, June 1, 1903, he was succeeded by his daughter, 
Jennie L. Phillips, who early in this year (1915) has been re-appointed 
under the Civil service law of May, 1913.  She is assisted by her 
sister, Agnes V. Phillips, and the office is kept in their drug store 
in the center of the village.  Rural routes 1 and 2, were established 
February 15, 1904, with Sherman W. Shattuck and Fred Murray as the 
respective carriers.  Rural Route 3 was established September 1, 1905, 
with Samuel B. Kirk as carrier.  There have been no changes in carriers 
since the office was established.  IN the early nineties the postal 
authorities shortened the name from Clear Water to Clearwater.

Page 645-648 (as related to Clearwater area)


Bianca.  Bianca postoffice was established in the late fifties in 
Silver Creek township.  Rev. Moses Goodrich was the postmaster

Corinna.  Postoffice was established on section 18, Corinnatownship, 
in 1868, with M. S. Harriman as postmaster.  In 1878, William Ponsford 
was appointed postmaster, and the office was removed to his residence 
on Section 17.

Silver Creek.   Silver Creek postoffice was established in 1856, with 
a A. G. Descent as postmaster.  The office continued in operation until 
December 1, 1906, when it was discontinued into the Maple Lake postoffice.  
The last postmaster was Jessie M. Ives, who succeeded  J. H. Whitney.

Ypsilanti.  postoffice was established in 1860, in Silver Creek 
township with Joseph Brooks as postmaster.